Amos Claycomb’s September 1903 Diary

atc 090403Tuesday, September 1, 1903
It has been a very nice day.
I walked home from school tonight.

Wednesday, September 2, 1903
It has been partly fair and partly cloudy today.
I walked to and from school.

Thursday, September 3, 1903
It has been a nice day only a little cloudy.
I went to a ballgame after school between the Gunthers and Sycamore.  Sycamore beat by a score of 8 to 7.

Friday, September 4, 1903
It has been cloudy nearly all day and has been raining part of the time.
I moved all my clothes into the room all [off?] the kitchen this afternoon and I expect to sleep here alone all winter.

Saturday, September 5, 1903
It has been partly cloudy and partly nice today and it sprinkled two or three times this morning.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning and I hoed a few weeds in some fall plowing for a little while after dinner.

Sunday, September 6, 1903
It has been cloudy all day.
I took the milk up the factory this morning and have staid home all the rest of the day.

atc 090703Monday, September 7, 1903
It has been a nice day only a little cloudy.I rode to school when George took the milk and rode back with papa on a load of sweet corn husks from the factory.
Aunt Georgie and her children started home this forenoon.

Tuesday, September 8, 1903
It has been a nice day.
I walked to and from school.

Wednesday, September 9, 1903
It has been cloudy all day and it commenced to rain a little before six tonight and is still raining hard a little after eight o’clock.

Thursday, September 10, 1903
It was cloudy at first this morning but it cleared off in the middle of the forenoon and has been nice the rest of the day.
I went up town on the car to go on an excursion to Sandwich but it was postponed until tomorrow on account of the rain last night.

Friday, September 11, 1903
It has been partly nice and partly cloudy today.
I went to a fair at Sandwich on an excursion today and had a very good time.  The principal things there were a ballgame where Syc. beat the Athletics 11-5 and some horse racing.  Louise also went to the fair with some girls.

Saturday, September 12, 1903
It has been partly fair and partly cloudy today but at half past twelve tonight it is raining.
We shelled corn all day and I helped around a little.  I went to a dance down at the park tonight.

Sunday, September 13, 1903
It has been cloudy nearly all day.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning but have staid home the rest of the day.

Monday, September 14, 1903
It rained hard last night and this morning for a while.  It has been cloudy all day and tonight it rained again very hard and I got wet through while getting the cows.
I got two new customers for milk today making four in all.  I carry the milk up as I walk to school and get all the money for it.

Tuesday, September 15, 1903
It has been cloudy all day and has rained part of the time.
I walked all the way to school but caught a ride part of the way back.

Wednesday, September 16, 1903
It has been cloudy and very cold all day.
I walked to and from school.  I got me a new pair of boots tonight.

Thursday, September 17, 1903
It has been partly clear and partly cloudy today but pretty cold.
I walked to and from school.

atc 091803Friday, September 18, 1903
There was a heavy frost last night but it has been nice today.
I went to a dance given by the Social Club at Grove’s pavilion tonight with Ruby Graham and had a very nice time.

Saturday, September 19, 1903
It has been a very nice day.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning and then I went down to the other place and picked up some apples which I took up to the cider press this afternoon.  Right after dinner I helped drive some cows up town on the pony and then I took the apples up.

Sunday, September 20, 1903
It has been a very nice day.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning.
Uncle Fred and Uncle Will rode out this morning on the horses and staid for a while.

Monday, September 21, 1903
It has been a very nice day.
I walked home from school tonight but caught a ride part way up this morning.

Tuesday, September 22, 1903
It has been a very nice day.
I went into Chicago with Uncle Will this morning to get a suit of clothes and a few other things.
This afternoon we went to a ballgame between the Chicago and New York National League teams.  Chicago won by a score of 6 to 1.

Wednesday, September 23, 1903
It has been a nice day only a little cloudy.
I walked to and from school.

Thursday, September 24, 1903
It has been a very nice day.
I rode a wheel home tonight for George which Uncle Fred has bought for him.
[A wheel is a bicycle.]

Friday, September 25, 1903
It has been a nice day.
I went to a dance over at DeKalb tonight with Ethel Chatfield and had a good time.
Grandma Townsend came home from Maine this afternoon.

atc 092603Saturday, September 26, 1903
It has been cloudy all day.  It sprinkled a little this morning and rained most of the afternoon.
I took some apples over to the cider press right after breakfast and then took the milk up to the factory as soon as I got back.
I slept for a while after dinner and about 4 o’clock I took a load of corn of [up?] town to a livery stable.

Sunday, September 27, 1903
It has been a nice day only a little cool.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning and went to Sunday School at noon. I drove up to Grandma’s this afternoon and staid a little while.

Monday, September 28, 1903
It has been a nice day only a little cloudy.
I went into Chicago this morning with Uncle Will to change the suit of clothes that I got last Tuesday.

Tuesday, September 29, 1903
It has been a nice day only a little cloudy.
I took the milk up to the factory before school this morning but left the horse up town for Papa to get.

Wednesday, September 30, 1903
It has [sic] quite a little last night and has been raining most of today.
I rode to school with papa but walked back.

ATC 1903 ledger sep p1

ATC 1903 ledger sep p2

Friday by Kim Klassen

Comments

