Amos Claycomb’s March 1904 Diary

atc 1904 diary closedTuesday, March 1, 1904
It has been cloudy nearly all day and warm enough to melt most of the time.
I caught a ride part of the way to school and another part of the way home

Wednesday, March 2, 1904
It has been cloudy nearly all day and is foggy tonight.  There is a very heavy wind tonight and it has been warm enough to melt all day.
I walked to and from school and bowled a little while this afternoon.

atc 030304Thursday, March 3, 1904
It began to snow last night and a north-west wind made a regular blizzard this morning.  the temp. was 15º  above but there is not much snow.
I bowled six games after school and after supper went to a Junior class party at Nellie and Anna Bollinger’s and had a very nice time.

Friday, March 4, 1904
The temp. was about 16º above this morning but it has been melting nearly all day.
I helped drive some cows home right after school but and went up town after supper to see a basketball game between the Belvidere H. S. boys and girls and the Syc. boys and girls.  Both Syc. team won.  After this I bowled five games.

Saturday, March 5, 1904
It has been partly cloudy today.  The roads freeze very hard at night but thaw a good deal during the day.
I walked to and from town with the milk this morning and went up town for d after dinner and bowled and won two games.

1904 intro sidebarSunday, March 6, 1904It has been cloudy nearly all day and has rained most of the afternoon.
I walked to and from town with the customers’ milk this morning but have staid home all the rest of the day.
Grandma is quite a little better today.

Monday, March 7, 1904
It was clear nearly all day except that it clouded up towards night.
I walked to and from school.  The roads are getting very muddy.
Papa goes up town on the car nearly every night and Louise rides it to and from school but we boys always walk.

Tuesday, March 8, 1904atc 030704
It has been a very nice day.
I walked to and from school.
Grandma was is quite a little better today.

Wednesday, March 9, 1904
It has been cloudy all day and a strong east wind has been blowing all the time.
I walked to and from schools and the roads are almost dry enough to walk all the way on.

Thursday, March 10, 1904
It rained quiet [sic] a little last night and has been raining most of the time today although not very hard.
Aunt Jennie came from Galesburg last night to see Grandma who is very much better.

Friday, March 11, 1904
It snowed a little last night and has been colder than usual today.
Papa and Louise went over to a musical at DeKalb Normal tonight.

Saturday, March 12, 1904
It has been cloudy most of the time today and a little cold with an easterly wind.
I took the milk up town this morning on foot and also went up after dinner and bowled a while.

Sunday, March 13, 1904
It has been cloudy nearly all day and tonight it has begun to snow.  A cold east wind has been blowing all day.
I walked to and from town with the milk this morning but have staid home all the rest of the day.

Monday, March 14, 1904
It snowed all of last night and has been blowing a blizzard all day with a strong, north wind.
I rode up to school with papa but walked home.
Grandma still continues to improve.

Tuesday, March 15, 1904
It has been partly fair and partly cloudy today but the snow has melted a good deal.
I walked to and from school and bowled seven games after school this afternoon.
Aunt Jennie was out to supper tonight.

Wednesday, March 16, 1904
It has been cloudy most of the day and melting a little but after supper it sleeted a little.
I bowled six games after school tonight and then walked home.

Thursday, March 17, 1904
It snowed all of last  night and most of today although it has been melting most of the time.  A strong east wind has been blowing all day.atc 031804
I bowled quite a little after school tonight.

Friday, March 18, 1904
It has been partly cloudy today and the snow is melting fast.
I went to a dance at Townsend’s hall tonight and walked home after it.

Saturday, March 19, 1904
It was cloudy this forenoon but it cleared up after dinner.  A strong westerly wind has been blowing most of the time.
I took the customers’ milk up this morning but have staid home all the rest of the day, sleeping all the afternoon.

Sunday, March 20, 1904
It had been partly cloudy an very cold all day.  A very strong east wind has been blowing all the time.
I walked to and from town with the milk this morning but have staid home all the rest of the day.
It is Edward’s birthday today and he is 12 years old.

Monday, March 21, 1904
It rained last night and froze and everythink [sic] was icy this morning.  It has been raining most of the time today with a little thunder and lightning this afternoon and a strong east wind all day.
I walked to and from school.

Tuesday, March 22, 1904
It was cloudy this forenoon morning but it cleared up early and has been a nice day.
I bowled two games after school tonight.

Wednesday, March 23, 1904
It has been a very nice day and warm enough for me to go without an overcoat.
I bowled five games after school and went up after supper and bowled five more.  I got 198 and 181 for high scores but the rest were only fair.

Thursday, March 24, 1904
It has been cloudy all day and tonight before supper a high south wind came up and it rained very hard for quite a while.
I helped drive some cattle home after school tonight.

Friday, March 25, 1904
It has been cloudy all day and rather cold.atc 032504
I walked to and from school and then up town again after supper.  I bowled two games (180, 146) and then went to a basket-ball game between Syc. H. S. and Waukegan H. S.  The latter won 35 to 16 but were really the best players and played like gentlemen.

Saturday, March 26, 1904
It was 17º above zero this morning and it has snowed several different times.  A cold north-west wind has been blowing and it has been partly cloudy and very cold all day.
I helped pile wood this morning for a while and then took the milk.
I bowled some this morning and also this afternoon.  I played a few games of pool this afternoon at the Commercial Club which I have made out an application of membership for.

Sunday, March 27, 1904
It was only 17º above at seven o’clock this morning but it warmed up a little during the day.  It has been partly cloudy with a cold north-west wind.
I took the milk up this morning on foot but have staid home all the rest of the day.
The roads are very rough now.

Monday, March 28, 1904
It has been a nice day only a little cloudy.
I played pool for a while after school at the club and then walked up after supper.  I played my first game of billiards tonight.

Tuesday, March 29, 1904
It has been cloudy most of the day altho the sun shone some during the afternoon.

Wednesday, March 30, 1904
It has been cloudy all day and raining most of the time although not very hard.
I played billiards for a little while at the Club after school.
I have bought two cows and one calf now from Papa with money taken from my note [as] I have been saving for a long time.  They all cost $65.  I bought one cow a few days ago and the other cow and calf this morning.

Thursday, March 31, 1904
It has been cloudy all day and raining part of the time.
I walked to and from school.  the roads are very muddy now.
I played billiards and pool for a little while at the Club after school.

kk_calamity

atc 1904 mar ledger

2 thoughts on “Amos Claycomb’s March 1904 Diary

Comments

