Amos Claycomb’s May 1904 Diary

atc 0501-0204Sunday, May 1, 1904
It has been clear most of the day but a little cold.
I took the milk up this morning and went up town for a little while after supper.

Monday, May 2, 1904
It has been clear nearly all day.
I went into Chicago today to get some new clothes and saw a baseball game between the Pittsburg and Chicago teams of the National League.  Chicago won by a score of 8 to 5.  Uncle Will helped me pick out the clothes but had to go away then.

Tuesday, May 3, 1904
It has been a very nice day.
1904 intro sidebarI played ball for a little while after school at the park.

Wednesday, May 4, 1904
It has been partly cloudy today and pretty warm.
I played ball for a while after school tonight.

Thursday, May 5, 1904
It has been cloudy most of the day and it sprinkled a little last this afternoon.
We began taking the cows to pasture this morning.
I went down to the Club and played billiards for a little while after school.

Friday, May 6, 1904
It has been cloudy nearly all day and tonight it rained very hard.
I went out to a private dance at the pavilion tonight with Miss Jeness and had a very nice time but got pretty wet.  I staid up to Grandma’s all night.

Saturday, May 7, 1904
It has been cloudy most of the day.
I took the milk up town this morning and after dinner I went over to DeKalb to see a game between the Syc. and DeKalb H.S. baseball teams.  The latter won 5 to 4.
I went up town for a little while after supper.

atc 050804Sunday, May 8, 1904
It has been cloudy all day and this afternoon it has been raining very hard.
I took the customers’ milk up this morning.
Papa went to Morrisson tonight on behalf of the school board.

Monday, May 9, 1904
It has been cloudy and clear by spells today but rained pretty hard from twelve to four o’clock.
I played billiards and pool at the Club for a little while after school.

Tuesday, May 10, 1904
It has been a very nice day but a little cooler than usual.
I played ball for a little while after school.

Wednesday, May 11, 1904
It rained a little last night and has been partly cloudy today.

Thursday, May 12, 1904
It has been cloudy most of the day and tonight it has been raining quite a little.
I went up town for a little while after supper tonight.

Friday, May 13, 1904
It has been partly cloudy today and a little cold with a strong west wind.
I went up town for a while after supper tonight.

Saturday, May 14, 1904
It has been cloudy most of the day and cold with a strong westerly wind.
I took the milk this morning and then went out in the field on a pulverizer.
This afternoon I worked around the house and after supper I went up to the Club for a while.

Sunday May 15, 1904
It has been a nice day only a little cool.
I took the milk up this morning in the buggy but have staid home the rest of the day.

Monday, May 16, 1904
It has been cloudy nearly all day.
I staid out of school and went to a May fete at the Waterman Hall this afternoon which was very good.

Tuesday, May 17, 1904
It has been a nice day only cloudy part of the time.
I walked to and from school and played billiards for a little while after school.

Wednesday, May 18, 1904
It has been a fairly nice day.
I stepped on a nail this morning which ran thru my shoe into my foot and I have been pretty lame all day.

Thursday, May 19, 1904
It sprinkled a little last night and has been partly cloudy today.
Papa is having the barns moved around now into better shapes.  The ones that are being moved are the big hay barn and the granary.

Friday, May 20, 1904
It has been clear all day and pretty warm.
I went to a lecture tonight given by Mr. Adee, in the High School, on Yellowstone Park which was very good.

atc 0519-2004

Saturday, May 21, 1904
It has been a nice day and very warm.
I worked around the barns all of the forenoon and this afternoon I went to a ballgame between Syc. and DeKalb H.S. at the park.  DeKalb won a very exciting game by a score of 8 to 5.  I went up to the Club after supper.

Sunday, May 22, 1904
It has been partly cloudy today but very warm.
I drove up with the customers’ milk right after breakfast.

Monday, May 23, 1904
It rained a little last night and has been partly cloudy today.  It sprinkled a little about noon.
I played pool for a little while after school tonight.

Tuesday, May 24, 1904
It has been cloudy nearly all day and is a litter cooler than usual tonight.
I went up to the Club after supper for a little while.

Wednesday, May 25, 1904
It has been partly cloudy today and pretty warm.
I drove up town in the buggy after supper and staid for a while at the Club.

Thursday, May 26, 1904
It rained quite hard this morning and has been cloudy most of the day.
I went to a reception tonight which as given by the Seniors to the Juniors in the High School.

Friday, May 27, 1904
It has been a very nice day only a little cool.
I went over to DeKalb tonight to an Oratorical Contest among five High Schools.

Saturday, May 28, 1904
It has been cloudy most of the game [sic?] but fairly warm.
I took the milk up this morning and worked around home.
This afternoon I went to a ballgame at the park when Syc. H.S. beat Marengo H.S. by a score of 10 to 9 in ten innings but the game was poorly played.
I went up to the Club after supper.

atc 050804Sunday, May 29, 1904
It has been cloudy all day and raining most of the time although not very hard.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning but have staid home all the rest of the day.

Monday, May 30, 1904
It has been cloudy nearly all day and pretty cold.
It is Decoration Day and there was no school and I have been at the Club most of the time.

Tuesday, May 31, 1904
It has been a nice day.
We about finished planting all our corn tonight and have about 120 acres.

atc 1904 may ledger

kk_calamity

One thought on “Amos Claycomb’s May 1904 Diary

  1. I read one of the blogs and decided to create a tree from the info. I started with Daniel Pierce and then added Phoebe Jane and her parents; Abijah and Sarah (Lane) Brundage. From this little tree I found 21 family trees and sent them a message giving them the link to your blog. I figured they would benefit from all your research. I have their Family tree names and links which I can send you if you like. I’ve enjoyed all your other posts. Thank You.

    Like

Comments

