Amos Claycomb’s June 1904 Diary

atc 060204Wednesday, June 1, 1904
It has been a very nice day but it is clouding up tonight.
I played ball at the park for a while after school.

Thursday, June 2, 1904
It has been cloudy or rainy all day but has only sprinkled.
I went to a Class party tonight given by Neal Blackford and Spencer Harman and had a very nice time.

Friday, June 3, 1904
It has been cloudy most of the day and pretty warm.  The wind blew very strong from the west tonight and it rained hard for a short time.
1904 intro sidebarI went up to the Club after supper.

Saturday, June 4, 1904
It rained last night and this morning pretty hard and has sprinkled two or three times during the day.
I took the milk up this morning and then mowed the lawn.
I staid home all the afternoon but went up to the Club after supper.
Eleanor came home from college tonight.

Sunday, June 5, 1904
It has been cloudy most of the day and a strong westerly wind has been blowing.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning.
It is George’s birthday and he is fifteen years old.

Monday, June 6, 1904
It rained a little this morning and has been cloudy most of the day.

Tuesday, June 7, 1904
It has been cloudy and cold all day.
I had a hair-cut after school and then went down to the Club for a short time.

Wednesday, June 8, 1904
It has been a fairly nice day.
I rode the pony up town after supper and went to the Club.

Thursday, June 9, 1904
It has been a very nice day.
After school I went to see a ballgame at the Electric Park between DeKalb and Syc. H.Ss.  The former won in a very interesting game by a score of 4 to 3, the winning score being made in the last half of the ninth inning.

Friday, June 10, 1904
It has been a very nice day.
I went to a party tonight given by Professor and Mrs. Adee to the two upper classes of the High School.

Saturday, June 11, 1904
It has been a nice day although a little cloudy.
I took the customers’ milk up this morning but came right back and mowed the lawn.  I went to a ballgame at the Park this afternoon when S.H.S. beat Lewis Institute of Chicago by a score of 8 to 4.  I went up to the Club after supper.

atc 0610-1104

Sunday, June 12, 1904
It has been a very nice day.
I took the milk up this morning and after supper went up to the Bacca       sermon given for the 1904 Class at the Opera House.  [I think the spelling of Baccalaureate was too much for him.]

Monday, June 13, 1904
It has been very warm today although partly cloudy.
I walked to and from school.

Tuesday, June 14, 1904
It has been a nice day although partly cloudy.
I went up to the Club for a little while after supper.

Wednesday, June 15, 1904
It has been cloudy most of the day and it sprinkled a little this afternoon.

Thursday, June 16, 1904
It has been fair and cool all day.
School let out today for the summer vacation and I am now a Senior in the High School.  I went up after supper to hear the exercises for the graduating class.

Friday, June 17, 1904
It has been a nice day.
I took the milk to the factory this morning and this afternoon I went up town.

Saturday, June 18, 1904
It has been partly cloudy today and very warm.
I took the milk and mowed the yard this forenoon and after dinner I hoed thistles.  After supper I went up to the Club.

Sunday, June 19, 1904
It has been partly cloudy but very warm.
I took the milk up this morning but have staid home all the rest of the day.

Monday, June 20, 1904
It has been cloudy most of the day and this afternoon it rained very hard for a while.
I took the milk up this morning and this afternoon I pulled mustard until it rained.
I went up to the Club after supper.

Tuesday, June 21, 1904
It has been a nice day only a little cool.
atc 062204I cut weeds all this afternoon and went up to the Club after supper.

Wednesday, June 22, 1904
It has been a nice day.
I picked strawberries for a little while this morning and hoed potatoes for a while after dinner.
I went up town after supper.

[The rest of the month is blank.]

atc 1904 jun ledger

kk_calamity

One thought on “Amos Claycomb’s June 1904 Diary

Comments

