Amos Claycomb’s December 1909 Diary

My grandfather, Amos Claycomb, is farming in Wildorado, Texas, near Amarillo in 1909.  He goes to town (Wildorado) for his mail and some supplies – he sometimes walks, sometimes rides the pony, and occasionally takes the train.  In December he hires Homer Russell and his family to work on the place with him.  I would love to know more about the Russells.

Wednesday, December 1, 1909
Came into Amarillo tonight on the train.  Went to a show with Bill Monning and slept in Dr. Hanson’s office all night.

Thursday, December 2, 1909
Did some business in town this a.m. and came back to Wil- on the 10 a.m. train.  Tore down some fence around an old corral with Harry Mooman this p.m.

Friday, December 3, 1909
Worked around the place all day.  There is still quite a little snow on the ground and it is melting rather slowly.  Russell, whom I have hired to work here for the next year is moving his household goods over each man.  He will be here with his wife, child and widowed sister.  Am paying him $40 a month and dividing profits on cows and chickens with them.

atc 120309 L

Saturday, December 4, 1909
A norther came up again today and it has been much colder with a light snow all day.  Rode the pony to town this p.m. to get the mail and some groceries.  Called on Clara N. this p.m.

atc 120409 L

Sunday, December 5, 1909
Staid around the house all day reading and playing cards with Harry Mooman.  Clara N., Arabel G., Joe Brewer and Carrol M. came out on horseback for supper tonight.

Monday, December 6, 1909
Cold today and I staid in the house most of the time.

Tuesday, December 7, 1909
Temp about 4° above this a.m.  Drove the team into town this p.m. and brought back some gasoline and other things.

atc 120709 L

Wednesday, December 8, 1909
Rode pony to town this p.m. and left her there while I went to Amarillo on the train.  Saw “The Time, the Place and the Girl” tonight with Carrol M.  The troupe didn’t arrive till late and the show started about 11:30 and ended about two.  Slept with Dr. Hanson tonight.

Thursday, December 9, 1909
Bought a few things this a.m. and then came back to Wildorado on the train.  Worked around the place this p.m.

atc 120909 L

Friday, December 10, 1909
Painted on the barn this a.m.  Drove the team to town this p.m. and brought back some fence boards for a corral.  Hayward finished putting the first coat on the house today except for the trimmings.  Color is a lead color.  Much warmer than usual and the snow is nearly gone.

Saturday, December 11, 1909
Drove up town after lumber this a.m.  Helped around the place this p.m.

atc 121109 L

Sunday, December 12, 1909
Helped Haywood make a concrete roller for the plow this a.m.
Painted on the barn all the afternoon.  Called on Clara N. tonight.  Haywood left this p.m. as he is going to leave town.

Monday, December 13, 1909
Russell came over this a.m. and we have been working on a corral all day.  I drove to town this a.m. and got a load of posts.

atc 121309 L

Tuesday, December 14, 1909
Worked on the corral all day and it is finished except for a couple of gates.  It started to snow again tonight and is much colder.  Rode the pony to town this p.m. after the mail and she got away from me up there and gave me a good half hour chase.

Wednesday, December 15, 1909
Put in the gates of the corral today and then worked this p.m. on a chicken house just south of the corral.

atc 121509 L

Thursday, December 16, 1909
Rode the pony up town this p.m. while Harry finished painting the barn for the second time.

Friday, December 17, 1909
A norther with snow started last night and has been going all day.  Snow is fine and doesn’t amount to much.  Russell and family moved in today to stay and they started the cooking tonight.

Saturday, December 18, 1909
Has been snowing most of the day.  Russell has been hauling stuff from his place over here.

[Pages missing]

Tuesday, December 21, 1909
Came home at 10 a.m. and getting a few things.  Staid in the house most of the afternoon.

atc 122109 L

Wednesday, December 22, 1909
Nothing doing.

Thursday, December 23, 1909
Worked around the house most of the day.  Called on Clara N. tonight.

Friday, December 24, 1909
Rode the pony up town this p.m.

atc 122409 L

Saturday, December 25, 1909
Painted on the house this a.m. for a while.  Rode pony up town this p.m. and right back.

Sunday, December 26, 1909
Finished putting first coat of paint on the house today.  Rode over to Bushland with Arabel and Lucile G. this p.m. on horseback.

Monday, December 27, 1909
Drove up town this p.m. after some lumber.

Tuesday, December 28, 1909
Built shed in the corral today with Homer and Harry.  Snow is almost all off of the ground now but it is frozen most of the time.

atc 122809 L

Wednesday, December 29, 1909
Worked all day building fence around the buildings.

Thursday, December 30, 1909
Painted on the house all the a.m.  Drove up town this p.m. after some lumber.

atc 123009 L

Friday, December 31, 1909
Thermometer around 60° all day.  Have been building a woven wire fence around the buildings.  Took train to Vega at 5 p.m. where I ate supper and danced in the new hotel.  Went with the people from Bushland.

atc 123109 L

 

Advertisements

Comments

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s