Amos Claycomb’s December 1911 Diary

On the 2nd the railroad paid damages for the fire started by a train in October.  Most of the month is busy selling off animals and supplies.

Friday, December 1, 1911
Drove home this p.m.

Saturday, December 2, 1911
Picked up maize heads all day with Norman.
120211 L

Sunday, December 3, 1911
Rode pony up after the mail this a.m. and over to Bushland after threshing help this p.m.
120311 L

Monday, December 4, 1911
Threshed maize this p.m. and got about 145 bushels.
120411 L

Tuesday, December 5, 1911
Finished threshing maize today getting a total of ___ bushels off of about 65 acres. [number not filled in]

Wednesday, December 6, 1911
Hauled some grain to Wil- this a.m. and helped Paine thresh after dinner.

Thursday, December 7, 1911
Helped Yeager thresh this a.m.  Gray started to haul kaffir this p.m.
120711 L

Friday, December 8, 1911
Cloudy and misty this p.m.  Helped Baldwin haul and stack feed this p.m. with Norman.

Saturday, December 9, 1911
Misty again this a.m. but helped Baldwin.  Picked up heads after dinner.
120911 L

Sunday, December 10, 1911
Rode pony over to Bush-  this a.m. and staid at Harker’s for dinner.

Monday, December 11, 1911
Arthur harrowed the plow plowing till noon and then double disced a small piece we did not get plowed.

Tuesday, December 12, 1911
Arthur harrowed and disced all day.  I went over to Bush- this p.m. and brought back Harker’s drill.
121211 L

Wednesday, December 13, 1911
Foggy with light snow today.
121311 L

Thursday, December 14, 1911
Worked around the barn all day.
121411 L

Friday, December 15, 1911
Arthur started drilling wheat this a.m.
121511 L

Saturday, December 16, 1911
Arthur drilled wheat all day.  Sold my mules today for $190.
121611 L

Sunday, December 17, 1911
Rode pony over to Bush- this a..m. and drove over to Faddis’ this p.m. after some wheat.
121711 L

Monday, December 18, 1911
Drizzling all day.  Too wet to drill.

Tuesday, December 19, 1911
Hard now last night and all day with north wind.

Wednesday, December 20, 1911
Snowed a little and drifted more today.  Sold Ballew all the rest of my cattle this a.m. for $325 – 6 yearling steers, 2 cows, 2 heifers and five calves.
122011 L

Thursday, December 21, 1911
Staid home all day.  Cloudy and melted very little.
122111 L

Friday, December 22, 1911
Rode up after the mail this a.m. and took three calves over to Ballew’s after dinner.  Sold 25 tons sorghum to Ballew today @ $5.
122211 L

Saturday, December 23, 1911
Took train to Am- today from Bush- and staid with Arthur Mc- tonight.
122311 L

Sunday, December 24, 1911
In Am- all day.  Came out home tonight.

Monday, December 25, 1911
Rode up after the mail this a.m. and staid home the rest of the day.  Misty all day.

Tuesday, December 26, 1911
Had to pull all the sucker rod of the wind-mill this a.m. and put in new leathers.  The upper joint of the rod was also broken.

Wednesday, December 27, 1911
Rode to Bush- this a.m. to take train to Amarillo but it was so late I came back home.
122711 L

Thursday, December 28, 1911
Rode up after the mail this a.m.  Norman killed his hogs today.

Friday, December 29, 1911
Rode after mail this a.m.  Cold norther most of the day.
122911 L

Saturday, December 30, 1911
Nothing doing.
123011 L

Sunday, December 31, 1911
Rode over to Harker’s this p.m. and staid there a few hours.

Comments

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s