Claycomb – Duncan Wedding

marr lic sycamore

From a DeKalb county paper, 1936.

April 11th is my parents’ anniversary.  They married in 1936, so this would be their 78th.

 

 

 

 

Announcement from The Wayne Herald, Wayne, Nebraska.

Announcement from The Wayne Herald, Wayne, Nebraska.

Wedding Guests.  I love seeing signatures of family and friends.wedding guests 1936wedding guests 1936 p2Mrs. N. M. Duncan is Nettie MaryJane Patchen Duncan, Harriet’s paternal grandmother.  Mrs. T. L. Oakland is MaryAnn Sanderson Oakland, Harriet’s maternal grandmother.
marriage cert 1936FEC HDC wedding clipping p1FEC HDC wedding clipping p2

Frank Harriet wedding day 2

The newlyweds, April 11, 1936, DeKalb, Illinois

They honeymooned at the Edgewater Beach Hotel in Chicago, where they danced to the big band sound of Skinnay Ennis and his orchestra.edgewater beach hotel pc

On their 60th anniversary in 1996, their first great-grandchild was born.   So here’s a very happy 18th birthday to Jack!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Claycomb – Duncan Wedding

    • I think Mrs. Wiswall (Elva?) was a Patchen as was Harriet’s paternal grandmother Nettie Patchen Duncan. I got to meet the daughters Vera and Hazel Wiswall. Are you connected to the Wiswalls? The Joiner Room has a fine collection of letters between the two sisters. They wrote almost every day and about everyday things. I wish someone would transcribe them!

      Like

      • I’m the director of the Joiner History Room and the Wiswall letters have been transcribe. I spent a year doing them. They are fantastic! I can email you a copy if you send me your address (sbreese@zeamays.com). I’m not at the Joiner Room now, but will be on Tuesday. I also do genealogy for the Roberts family from Sycamore who are related to the Claycomb/Gouchenour family.

        Like

    • I never heard that, but you never know. That article also got Mom’s father’s name wrong (T.L.Duncan, not R.E. Duncan). Looks like MaryLou came with Richard McLaughlin – don’t know that story either, but MaryLou was Dad’s favorite cousin.

      Like

  1. I think that Mom & I stayed overnight at Helen & Lucille Mercer’s in Chicago when I was maybe 6 years old. It was a high rise (at least to me at that age) apartment and we heard the planes from O’Hare airport all night long. I think it might be the trip when we took the train down from the twin cities. I remember the bubble top observation car and “eating on the train” was a big deal for me.

    Like

Comments

