Kindergarten 1951

Relics from my kindergarten year (1950-1) at Lindo Park School, Lakeside, California.  Kindergarten was a time to learn to be away from home, to get along with other people and listen to the teacher, and my favorite parts: graham crackers and milk, and naps.  Seems ridiculous to have to mention but there was no homework as there is today.  It was a year of fun.  There were two classes – I was in Mrs. Lyon’s class and next door was Mrs. Westrick’s class.
kindergarten reportMom took the movies and they have those qualities of movies then – no sound, too light or too dark, moving too fast, heads cut off, and yet, brings back memories of those times.
The first video shows the playground activities.  I can recognize a few kids:  Louise Hayward, Susan Diamond, Celeste Harrison, and maybe Esther Thomas.  And Mrs. Westrick.   I’m in the red overalls, and that surprises me – I would have expected to have to wear a dress.  But you can see, pants are much more practical when you play on the bars!

mrs lyons kindergarten class 2

Dorothy Lyons and kindergarten class.

mrs lyons kindergarten class 1

Dorothy Lyons and kindergarten class.

One day Mom put one of our lambs into the family car and brought it to our kindergarten class for the kids to see.  Of course at the time I didn’t appreciate the effort this must have taken.
mrs lyons playground

The second video is our graduation day.  I do remember making the construction paper hats.  Both teachers are in this.  I can also see Dennis Busgen, Susan Diamond, Erin Macgillivray, Ken Walling, Ron Carlson, Esther Thomas, and I think, Pat Fazio.  I’m in the blue and white polka-dotted dress.

If you are in these videos, I’d love to hear from you.  And if you recognize anyone, we could add that to the post.

Comments

